Our Club members

Our rowing programme is carried out by a dedicated team comprising of school staff, voluntary coaches, parents and our rowing crews.


Our coaching team is comprised of highly successful rowers, who each ensure that our crew members enjoy a safe and rewarding sport:


Eric Verdonk             Head Coach

Mike Tolhurst            Senior Coach

Kevin Herbison         Senior Coach

Eric Ibarraran            Senior Coach

Adrian Riepen           Senior Coach

Katie Halliday            Junior Coach

Epernay Norman      Junior Coach

Hugo Verdonk           Junior Coach

Club Captains

Takapuna Grammar School Rowing Club Captains are ambassadors for both the club and the school, and are responsible for supporting the coaches and all crew members.

Club Captains are selected by all club members annually from the Under 18 Senior Crew once registrations are complete, and are announced at the Annual General Meeting.

Jack Featherstone and Jessica Hamlin are our Club Captains for the 2018/19 season

Anton Andres and Sienna Norman are out Vice Club Captains for the 2018/19 season

Life Members

Malcolm Iversen                  Chris Glanfield                  John Beck

Barbara Iversen                    Mary Glanfield                  Terry Tidbury

Robin Holding                      Terry  Holding                   Chris Hume

Nicky Hume                          Bruce Alvey                       Shana Alvey

Erwin Drok                            Colleen Tonei                    Ian Pratt

Lee Pratt                                Ian Lissette









The Takapuna Grammar School Rowing Club Committee is formed annually to coordinate the delivery of our objectives.

The Committee, consisting of approximately 15 volunteer members organise the various required activities including fundraising, maintenance, training camps, communications and generally assist in the conduct of the club's operations.

Each year Committee Members and our Executive Officers are elected by club members at the Annual General Meeting.

The following members were elected for the 2018 / 19 season:

Executive Officers

Paula Halliday           President

Dan Featherstone     Vice President

Sharon Norman        Treasurer

Linda Ward                Secretary

Committee Members

Callum McNair                            Associated TGS Teacher

Neil Halliday                                Event Coordination

Ann Nicholas                               Camps Coordination

Andy Grant                                  Health and Safety

Anna Foster / Safra Bacchus     Merchandise/ Uniforms

Bryce Davey                                Facilities

Graeme Norman                         Grants

Eric Verdonk                                Head Coach

Jenny Hamlin                              Transportation

Russell Foster                             Fundraising

Cheryl Montgomery                  Sponsorship

You can contact any of our Committee Members via our club email address: club@tgsrowing.org.nz to discuss any issues pertaining to the management of the club.

Fresh ideas and new parent participation is always welcome.